The 28 Day Water Challenge

As if I haven’t challenged myself enough during this Quarantine…here comes Another One like DJ Khaled on the track.

So my lady and I got our monthly package from MuscleBox delivered to the crib and we’re very surprised upon tearing off the tape. Tasty protein treats and workouts aside, there was this nice bright neon green 44 Oz water jug that brightens my spirits. The first thought was “OOOOHHHH! New water bottle for once the gyms re-open!” and then once I raised it a piece of paper flew down to the floor.

28 Day Water Challenge. Ummm…come again??

Oh yeah…28 Days of water jugging? No problem with a shoulder shrug considering I drink roughly between 70-80 ounces daily. As I scanned the checklist, my goal was to drink…wait for it…125 OUNCES A DAY?!? The equivalent of around a gallon or 3 refills of this neon green jug a day. For her, the target was 96 ounces daily aka 2 ½ bottle trips of her burgundy water tank.

Work & A Reward on the Par 5.

Even if this was a “back to normal circumstances” of working out regularly, soccer clashes, and OTF weekends, I honestly think drinking a gallon for me would still be a challenge. On a regular schedule I down water like it’s soda but a gallon drinking fest meant that work was done plus overtime.

Day 1 was a success filled with a 4-mile jog and over 40 trips to the bathroom (allegedly). The john and I became best friends upon the start of this journey; we even exchanged stories. Fast forward to Day 6 and we’re still friends but the trips are starting to diminish now that my body has started to adapt to the daily gallon waterfall. And yes my urine went from light yellow to clear in a matter of hours.

So what’re the benefits of this? Well for one water intake is important to prolong physical activity in general. The more you sweat, the more water your body loses towards recovery and performance. So you need to refuel and with a gallon in production, the body can use that substance for longer periods of performance.

Water also helps with brain function, constipation, fueling muscle exhaustion, skin health, and other benefits. Speaking of benefits here’s an article from Healthline about Hydration Benefits.

Our Checklist of Ounces.

I can feel a physical difference already 5 Days in the books. The other day I went to the soccer fields just to run around for about 40 minutes. Got a good sweat in, footwork drills were solid and even did a few sprints for 40 yards. And I realized that my body wasn’t cracking down, my knee joints were holding up even with fatigue, and was able to sprint more comfortably.

Day 6 currently in the AM with my protein shake and Pump Up The Jam on the speakers to start today’s objectives. The neon water tank awaits me in the fridge; we got some business with H20 to handle.

10K Steps All Day, Every Day Update: Movin’ into Day 24 of this challenge! Long days at the office the last few days was a tussle but still managed to light up the FitBit for 10K. Feeling the mileage with 6 days remaining but overall this challenge has kept me active and my lower body says thanks for that. A Step Challenge + A Water Challenge = YOU’RE CRAZY BRO?! I am but I’m making progress and at the end of the day that’s what matters.

Stay Weird, Show Love, Do The Work, and Live Ya Life! There’s progress to be made.

“When the well is dry, they know the worth of water.”

–Benjamin Franklin

1-on-1 Personal Training available NOW at The Well! 💪🏾

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment